One September Morning

I met a traveler on the path.

My appearance did not please him. He seemed suspicious.

He demonstrated his steely gaze. I told him he was cute.

I followed a fluttering and it hid behind a flower. Look. The petal has antennae.

With most of the color drained away, it looks like this. Which do you like better?

I found this one hiding in the flowers.

There’s a second insect hiding in this image. Can you find it?

To be continued…

Next Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. So cute! I too encountered an interesting little critter this morning.

    Reply
  2. Paul J. Stam

     /  September 15, 2012

    Love the pics, particularly the tortoise. I like the full color pics better and no I couldn’t find the other creature, but I never was good at hide-and-seek.

    Reply
    • The tortoise was adorable though I don’t think he felt the same about me. Thanks for the feedback! The second bug is upside down to the left of the butterfly’s hind wing (closer to the edge of the photo than the butterfly). I thought I saw legs but had to blow it up to be sure.

      Reply
  3. Pretty pictures. I love coming across critters. I met up with a small rabbit yesterday morning when I opened the front door.

    Reply
    • I love it, too! It’s a shame the critters aren’t always as happy to see us as we are to see them, but it still makes my day to catch a glimpse of any kind of wildlife.

      Reply
  4. Sherrie

     /  September 15, 2012

    What a magnificent tortoise Tori!!!

    Reply
  5. Just below center on the left hand side. 🙂 I like the photos with the colors drained away. & Love the tortoise stare-down!

    Reply
    • Good eye! I’m kind of partial to the sub-saturated look too, but I’m not really sure why. I enjoyed the nose-to-nose time with the little tortoise but I don’t think he felt the same.

      Reply
  6. I wonder why tortoises always look grumpy and suspicious?

    Reply
  7. Marvellous photos Forky! What a beautiful tortoise you met 🙂
    I thought the butterfly pic with the color drained away looked like a painting, or an illustration or something. And for the life of me, I couldn’t find the other insect 😦

    Reply
    • Cool! That’s it. It does look like a painting. I couldn’t put my finger on why I liked it. The other bug is hiding to the left of the butterfly just below center.

      Reply
  8. Me neither. But beautiful pics!

    Reply
  9. nice work -Ive been on the computer for over a week=sick-then the cable got messed up, I had 977 messages piled u, so obviously I wont be able to do a lot-still not well-rough week. Hope you are doing well–beebeesworld

    Reply
  10. ahaha, this post is lovely… the interesting creatures on our path, if we bother to take a close look… love the lighting on your photos. 🙂 and how did you get a close-up shot of the tortoise unharmed, huh? am sure it’s more than a mean look you got from the traveler, lol… ^^

    we used to have a Florida turtle, the size of a huge plate. had to give it away to a friend… it’s the kind that snaps its neck, very fierce. it burrows itself on the soil and one has to sing a song to make it come up the ground. crawls around the house like he owns the place. him and the shih tzu always had spats. the latter claims prior ownership to the territory. to prevent bloodshed, the turtle had to go… ^_^

    thank you for the visit and the wonderful words, Tori. 🙂 will await your new post… cheers!

    Reply

What do you think?

