Driving in May

I spend a lot of time in the car during the school year, chauffeuring the kids.  There’s a gang of Canada geese that live around a pond next to the middle school, so I took my camera with me when I took our youngest to school. On the way home, I stopped by the side of the road to photograph the wildflowers.

It was gloomy yesterday morning and there were only a couple of pairs of Canada geese at the pond. There was one white goose with them that I had never seen before.

He looked lonely.

On the way home, I stopped by the side of the road to take a closer look at these.

It was a gloomy day and there weren’t many butterflies out but I found this one accidentally. He was very attached to this particular flower and turned in circles for a long time as he mined the pollen.

When I went hiking a couple of weeks ago, it seemed like all the flowers I saw were blue or white. Yesterday they were all white and yellow.

 

When I went back to pick up my son from school, the sun had come out and the white goose was gone. But this pair of Canada geese caught my eye.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. lovely images… i hate seeing a lone goose, since they mate for life. here’s to hoping he’s still looking for his mate. ♥

    Reply
    • Me too. I’m still not sure what kind of goose he is. The snow geese supposedly migrated through here last February or March and should be long gone. And he doesn’t have the black on his wings that snow geese do. The only other withe geese I could find are domestic. Any ideas?

      Reply
      • I was wondering the same — what kind of goose this was! Quite beautiful… The only thing I could guess is what they call a “domestic goose,” like you said — although in the first pic there seems like there might be a touch of black in the top of the wing?

  2. Beautiful Photos – thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. Lovely, especially the last flower one. Funny, I’m working on a post about the ducks on the pond in our neighborhood.

    Reply
  4. Gosh, your daisy photos are stunning. Happy Mother’s Day this weekend, my friend. Hope you have a good one!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kathy. We have a busy day today, but hopefully tomorrow B and I can use Mother’s Day to guilt our sons into doing something with us like going for a hike.
      T.

      Reply
  5. Oops, almost forgot. Sorry about how things turned out in the vote yesterday, but at least Obama has come out in support of gay marriage today!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply
    • Yes, I was sorry about the vote too, even though I expected it. Obama’s announcement was pleasantly unexpected though. Very cool. I hope it doesn’t cost him too many votes.

      Reply
  6. Paul J. Stam

     /  May 9, 2012

    With friends like those; geese, butterflies, flowers we can put up with the little road bumps in life. – Blessings and Aloha – pjs.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Paul. I agree. I went hiking in the country the next day for a long time with my camera and it always makes me feel right with the world again.

      Reply
  7. Beautiful shots! They are so vivid and bright I never would have guess the day was overcast. Sending happy thoughts your way. Sorry things didn’t go as we had hoped yesterday.

    Reply
  8. You take such beautiful pictures.

    Reply
    • Thanks!. A lot of it is persistance and technology. Thanks to digital cameras and big memory cards, I can take a LOT of pictures and pick out the best and then crop them and fix lighting if I need to in Photoshop.

      Reply
  9. wonderful images thanks MJ

    Reply
  10. Nature is everywhere that we are-we often miss these treasures-beautiful photography.

    Reply
    • And it’s particularly easy to remember that in the spring when nature is so colorful about reminding us of its presence. Thank you!

      Reply
  11. Man, you (and your camera) rock at taking pictures. Out of curiousity, what kind do you have? I need to bite the bullet and get a new one, and yours sure seems like a good one.

    Reply
    • It’s a Canon Rebel XS EOS 1000D and I I love it. The Rebel has been around for a while now in many incarnations. Not sure what the most current model is. I also have a 75-300 mm zoom lens for it that I use a lot. And I have to take this opportunity to thank my mom again because it was a gift from her. Before I was using a little point-and-shoot Sony that made it very difficult to chase butterflies and almost impossible to shoot birds.

      Reply
  12. Great shots, especially the green butterfly. Is it a malachite by any chance? We supposedly have them in So. Florida, but I’ve never seen one.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m actually not sure what the little green butterfly is. I’ve never seen one before (and so was very excited to get a photo). I usually look these things up right away but it was a busy week. I got a photo of another new butterfly (for me) the next day too and several widflowers (just starting to learn them) and am hoping to have time to sit down today with my field guides.

      Reply
  13. We should all stop and take a break from our busy schedules to admire nature. There’s a real sense of peace in these photos.

    Reply
    • I agree! And peace was what I was looking for that day after a disappointing start to my week, so I’m glad it comes through in the photos.

      Reply

What do you think?

