There’s Still Sand in My Shoes: Things People Say When They Get Back from Vacation

What they say: What they’re thinking:
   
“We had a lovely time at the beach.” “It was freakin’ awesome.”
“But it’s always good to come home.” “We should live there!”
“I feel so relaxed and recharged.” “I drank beer every day!”
“My life feels manageable again.” “I didn’t drive anyone to the vet, dentist, doctor or school for a   week!”
“I’m ready to get on top of things.” “I’m deleting my To-do list!”
“A week off gave me a fresh perspective.” “I could learn to sail and scuba dive!”
“It reminded me to live in the here and now…” “My phone didn’t work anywhere on the island!”
“…and to appreciate what we have…” “Of course, I’d need a boat…”
“…a wonderful home, a loving family…” “…and a beach house with its own name and maybe a pet pelican …”
“…and…um…I’m sorry. What was I saying?” “…and we’ll have bonfires on the beach and a hammock on the porch and   I’ll sleep with the sound of the surf coming through my open window every   night and write stories about sea monsters and shipwrecks and haunted   lighthouses and…”

Let’s call him Seymour.

Okay, maybe it’s is just me. I suppose I’ll be like this for a while, at least until I get the sand out of my shoes and the shells out of my pockets (keep finding them in the wash). Until next year. Smooth sailing, ya’ll.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I loved your post. You have such a good sense of humor. Thank you for the laugh and the smile. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I hope the vacation sticks with you a good long while.

    Reply
  3. Susanne

     /  April 16, 2012

    Yeah right! A year is waaaay too long…
    “Why again are we living that far from the Ocean??”, Dana asked after just 30 minutes of driving back home

    Reply
  4. Loving your post – I needed a chuckle as well as to think about escaping work!

    Reply
  5. I couldn’t agree more, always love the sea and coast, in fact I’ve does added a post about it !

    steve

    Reply
  6. I couldn’t agree more, I’ve enjoyed following youe vacation
    Steve

    Reply
  1. Vacation « randomramblings40

What do you think?

