Flotsam

It’s day three of our retreat at the Outer Banks, and I’m celebrating by spending as much time as possible wandering up and down the shore with my camera.

If you look closely at the pincers, it looks like they’re lined with teeth. Crustacean parts are creepy.

 I am a compulsive beachcomber. One of my great joys in visiting the edge of the any big body of salty water is to pace its margins too see what the tide left on the sand.

I don’t know where the people went but it was thoughtful of them to leave this for me to photograph, don’t you think?

And sometimes, people leave behind fun stuff too. I saw several sand castles yesterday but this was the best (and most colorfully staged).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I have only been to the Outer Banks once (it’s a bit of a haul from Texas) but I loved it. We stayed in Hatteras in the off season and had a great time. We especially liked Ocracoke Island and want to go back there.

    I read a book by Tom Carlson – Hatteras Blues: A Story from the Edge of America – which was really good and I learned a lot about the history of charter fishing in Hatteras. I recommend it to anyone interested in the Outer Banks.

    Reply
  2. What about the jetsam?

    Reply
  3. What a great photo of the sand castle!

    Reply
  4. Fantastic.

    Reply
  5. I, too, am an obsessive beachcomber! Love the sandcastle! Hope you enjoy the rest of your week!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply
  6. Two more months and I get to go! It is our family tradition to hunt for sea glass there. So far my husband is the only one to not find any (out of eight of us). He is very disappointed.

    Reply

What do you think?

