Great Blues

My mother can render the most amazing images in pencil, ink, and watercolors. In the 40 years she and my dad have lived in southern Mississippi, she has become a self-taught expert on the flora, fauna and natural history of the Gulf Coast. And that, more often than not, is what she paints – beach scenes, bayous, wildlife. She is particularly drawn to birds – sea gulls, ospreys, egrets, sand hill cranes, great blue herons. She raised me to be a nature lover like her, but unfortunately, I did not inherit her talent.

I can’t draw to save my life. Even my handwriting is bad (while hers looks like the kind of elegant calligraphy you might find in a medieval illuminated manuscript). It became clear to me, very early on that if I wanted to share my vision of the natural world, I was going to have to find another way to do it. So I bought a camera.

I’m not a particularly talented photographer, but I’m a persistent one. Then something magical happened which allows me to create the illusion of being adept. The digital camera was born. And Photoshop. I have been in heaven ever since. I might have to take 50 photos to get one I like, but I can, because I’m not dishing out money for film anymore, and I have a very big memory card. Then I can go home and crop my photo and adjust the lighting without having to invest in an enlarger and a bunch of chemicals to set up a darkroom. Life is good.

So this is what is what I do sometimes when I feel like sticking a fork in my eye and I need a break from raising kids and keeping house. I take my camera hiking or out for a drive. These are a few photos I took at a local lake one day last fall not long after sunrise.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Beautiful pics – thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Kate

     /  March 10, 2012

    Wow! These are gorgeous! Cameras and photography are great for escaping parenting, I think. That, and running helps me out, too. Guess I need an extra dose of escapism.

    Great shots!

    Reply
    • I used to run too! I gave it up when I became a full time parent. Good for you for sticking with it! Hiking works good for me too. As long as I can get away by myself someplace secluded and green with my camera occasionally, I’m good. Nice to meet a fellow shutterbug and thanks!

      Reply
  3. I feel about like you with a camera. However, I don’t know how to use PhotoShop, and clearly from looking at these images, you are way, way better than I would ever dream of being.

    These are stunning, my friend!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kathy. I don’t generally take to new technology easily, but once I made the switch with the camera (from film to digital), I was a believer. Then my dad bought me Photoshop a couple of years ago, so I felt obligated to try to learn how to use it. I still can’t do anything fancy, like switching my sons heads in a photo as they have suggested, but I can do basic development stuff and I love it. A few months ago, my brother sent me Lightroom which I am still learning about. Thanks, for all the kind comments.
      T.

      Reply
  4. TJ Soule

     /  March 10, 2012

    I can totally relate. My paternal grandmother was an artist and a poet. By some sad misfortune, I did not inherit any of her talent either. And I do not have a photographers eye such as yourself. I believe that requires a lot of talent and your forte just happens to be capturing a great shot through a camera lense. Your photos are wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
    • Hi again Sherrie’s-mom! Thanks so much for all the kind comments. I bet you could do great stuff with a camera if you wanted. (You didn’t see the 4 dozen other photos I took that morning that I didn’t share.) And Sherrie sure does have a great eye, doesn’t she? Coppertop and I have been comparing our photos for years, and I always enjoy her pictures. Thanks for visiting again!
      T.

      Reply
  5. What’s the (actual) word count on this? Because you can add 5,000.

    Reply
  6. These pictures are beautiful!Thank you for sharing them:)

    Reply
  7. Anita gallagher

     /  March 10, 2012

    Love you! Now for your butterflies, sunsets etc…..Mom

    Reply
    • Love you too, Mom! And for the record, I also take pictures of bugs and abandoned buildings and fossils and lighthouses. Though I do really like chasing butterflies, I don’t think I actually have a sunset photo.

      Reply
  8. Thanks for sharing. Absolutely breathtaking photos! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Those are so cool. What state do you live in? The tree line in the background of the third picture and the reflection of them in the fourth really caught my eye. I’m from the desert, so trees that thick stick out to me!

    Reply
    • We’re in North Carolina. I grew up in the woods but they were all pine and evergreen. Until I moved to NC years ago, I had never seen trees that change color in the fall and I still get excited about it (and have to take my camera out). I’ve never even visited a desert but I’d love to go for a walk with my camera in Arizona.

      Reply
  10. Really great photos, that last one of the blue herron in flight was magnificent!! I’m also a photo nut, hence the old tomato box PACKED full of pics in the upstairs spare bedr. closet!! lol NOW, since I told my 2 kids to get together and get me a nice digital camera for my b-day 2 yrs. ago, I’m in heaven, cuz now I can share my pics with family & friends online! As for photo shop, I’d really like to know how to work that…hmmm! As for photos, I would love to see if some of mine are….slightly…comparable to yours! lol Very nice pics you took 😉 And getting outside with nature is such a stress releiver, I love it! Thank you for sharing them!

    Reply
    • I love being able to share stuff online too. I post a lot of photos on Facebook to show my long-distance friends and family. So much easier than getting film developed and mailing prints. And wandering about in the countryside is definitely good for the soul. It does wonders for me. I hope you get a chance to take your birthday present for a nature walk sometime soon.

      Reply
  11. These pictures are gorgeous!! Thank you for sharing them with us!!

    Reply

What do you think?

