She Said, She Said

One of the things I hoped would come of this blog is that it would help people see that our family is not so very different from “traditional” families. My partner suggested this topic to show that our relationship is not so very different from heterosexual relationships, either. We’re just two people who love each other, and just like other couples, we sometimes have some difficulty communicating clearly:

What she/I said:                                                    What she/I meant:

I got this on sale! I spent way too much money.
That’s nice, honey. I stopped listening 5 minutes ago.
This is a relationship, not a competition. I’m so winning.
I cleaned the boys’ bathroom. I am a saint.
The dog vomited in the living room. It’s your turn.
No, I don’t mind at all. You owe me big. 
You don’t have to get me anything for my birthday. I want something that’s not too expensive but thoughtful enough to show me just how much you love me.
I don’t care. Yes I do.
I’m not mad. You’re in deep shit.
I’m really sorry. Aw c’mon. That was funny.
No, I don’t think you’re fat! I think you’re beautiful.*

*I bet you think I copped out on this one, don’t you? I didn’t. I’m just that lucky.

My next t-shirt.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Love this. It really isn’t different at all, is it? My partner offers lots of great post ideas, as well.
    Kathy

    Reply
  2. Funny stuff. We all need lessons in communications.

    Reply
  3. Nice break down, I can’t wait to share with my partner.

    Reply
  4. I hope she gets a laugh out of it. I’m enjoying the heck out of your blog and looking forward to more poetry. (I wrote a bit myself in another life and still love reading it.) Thanks for reading.

    Reply
  5. Catherine

     /  March 3, 2012

    We are wondering how you know what we are thinking!?

    Reply
  6. You know me, Catherine. I never know what anyone is thinking. Except B and the boys and that’s only after years of practice.

    Reply
  7. Great list. My favorite is the “nothing for my birthday” item. Do you see that honey? Really, I don’t need anything… But its coming up soon.

    Reply
  8. Yes, exactly! So I always get her something (though I don’t always manage to get what she wanted). Thanks for reading!

    Reply

What do you think?

