Vintage Science Fiction Cover Art

One summer day when I was about twelve, I complained to a friend that I couldn’t find anything interesting to read. My friend gave a little laugh and said, Come with me. Leading me to her garage, she flicked on the light, waited a moment for dramatic effect, and said, Pick.

I was in awe. One whole wall of the garage was covered by homemade bookshelves and those shelves were stuffed to overflowing with, what I would soon discover, were science fiction paperbacks.

They’re my dad’s, my friend said. He’s kind of a sci fi junkie. You can borrow anything you want.

I stepped forward and picked one at random. Inherit the Stars by James P. Hogan. The cover art convinced me to take it home. And so began an addiction to science fiction that would last thirty years (and counting).

So a few years ago, when I was in the depths of my thrift store addiction, I began buying old sci-fi paperbacks. It gave me something new to hunt for, and I really liked the cover art, especially from the 40s, 50s and 60s. (If you read my last post you’ll know I have a fascination with yesterday’s vision of tomorrow.) But it was hard to display the covers if the books just sat on a bookshelf. So I decided to take on another craft project. I started collecting the covers, some cheesy ones and some of the classics that I had read as a kid, with the thought that I would one day try to decoupage them on the top of an old trunk.

Since I am not a particularly successful crafter and a great procrastinator, the covers went into a  manila envelope and have been occupying the bottom drawer of my desk for a few years now. But one day, I swear, I’m going to finish this project. In the meantime, they’re this week’s Thrift Pick of the Week.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jody High

     /  February 16, 2012

    I have that book – and have read all three of the trilogy. Great series!

    Reply
  2. Hi Jody! wasn’t a trilogy yet when I read the first, but I did read the second when it came out and really liked it, too.

    Reply
  3. Science Fiction opened my world, too, as a kid. My first was A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle. I’ve still got it.

    Reply
  4. “But one day, I swear, I’m going to finish this project.” – yeah, sure 😉 hey, i was a sci fi junkie in my grade school and high school, too. Isaac Asimov, anyone? haha… hello, Tori. 🙂

    Reply

What do you think?

