Confession of a Thrift Store Junkie

I’m not sure when I got hooked. It might have been the day I found a 3 foot plastic Millennium Falcon for almost nothing. (Our boys were huge Star Wars fans and that thing retailed for more than $100.) Or maybe it was when I came across an old tin globe. It was painted in bright colors and had the signs of the Zodiac on the base. I had absolutely no use for it. So I bought it. I couldn’t help myself. Suddenly, every time I saw an old globe in a thrift store, I had to buy that, too. Soon I realized I was regularly trolling every second-hand store in town in search of globes or other cool old junk.

When I started, I swear, I was just trying to save money. We had a pretty tight budget (imagine if the lower middle class had a basement), and I could get cheap clothes, books, and furniture. This was years ago, before our youngest was in school, and a trip to the thrift store became entertainment, especially on those winter days when it was too cold or snowy to go outside for long. It gave us a way to get out of the house without spending a lot of money. (We could only go to the library so often.) There was a Goodwill nearby that always had a huge bin of little 50 cent toys next to the bookshelves. We usually got out of there with reading material for me and a double fistful of little toys for the little guy, and I rarely spent more than $3 or$4.

Then the globe happened. Suddenly, thrift shopping was less a budgeting strategy or winter entertainment and more a strange addiction. The youngest got older and went off to kindergarten, and I kept thrift shopping. My habit escalated and I added flea markets and garage sales. I bought buckets of toys for the boys, cookware and books for my partner, doodads for the house – all kinds of things we really didn’t need but they were all such a bargain!

And I began collecting “vintage” things: typewriters, old suitcases, science fiction novels from the 40s and 50s with the cool freaky cover art. And more globes. At one point, I had accumulated 15, I think. Most of them had to live in the basement because at the time, there were five of us living in a house with less than 1200 square feet. My partner and oldest son staged an intervention.

That was years ago, and I’m much better now. These days I try (usually successfully) to limit myself to one store once a week, and sometimes I don’t buy anything at all. But sometimes I find something really cool. So once a week, I’m going to post my “Thrift Pick of the Week” just for you other thrifters and treasure-hunters out there. This week, my globes. Next week, look for science salvage.

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. jonesingafter40

     /  January 17, 2012

    Hello thrift store junkie! Fellow junkie here. One of my best days last year was when I walked into our local thrift store on 75% off day. Left with 2 garbage bags of clothes, a box of books and albums for $17. I found an antique copy of The Good Earth for 25 cents. What a day!

    Reply
  2. Good for you! I have a real penchant for old copies of good books too. I like to imagine all the people who may have read it before it found its way to me. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  3. i really like the globes! i just bought one at goodwill for a few dollars and it’s fun to have in the house

    Reply
    • They’re hard to resist, aren’t they? I like the old ones best because they help me imagine what the world was like when they were new.

      Reply
  4. Sherrie stringer

     /  January 20, 2012

    Thrift stores are great – haven’t been in awhile and you have inspired me to go. I love globes too, the black ones are my face. I still have the globe you gave me not long after your addiction began.

    Reply
  5. Can I have the Millennium Falcon?

    Reply
    • Heh heh. I’m afraid my boys won’t give it up. They’re older now and don’t play with it anymore but apparently, it’s still too cool to get rid of.

      Reply

What do you think?

